Level 5 Award in Organisational Resilience

Research of senior management opinions from BSI (British Standards Institute) in 2015 quotes “nine in ten saw resilience as a priority for their business, while eight in ten believed it to be indispensable for long-term growth.” The market in this area is also one which is becoming increasingly sophisticated. Evidence from marketing and social media indicates a trend for established consultancy providers to move away from traditional ‘business continuity’ or event-orientated approaches towards a more holistic and commercial outlook. From such a perspective, the concept of Resilience concerns the management of gradual, evolutionary change within a commercial context rather than responding to sudden and shocking events as covered in crisis management.

This Level 5 programme is designed to give assurance professionals, risk managers, emergency planners and resilience and business continuity practitioners a recognised qualification, as well as access to a structured methodology and framework that will allow them to conduct detailed assessments and report on resilience capability at an organisation-wide level. The programme also explores a number of other concepts relevant to the study of Organisational Resilience, including security, business transformation and knowledge management, and discusses opportunities for their application.

Outline of Organisational Resilience L5 course content:

Unit 1: Context and Definitions

  • The historical and psychological context
  • The current landscape and recent developments
  • Key information sources
  • Definitions and references

Unit 2: Reasoning, Benefits and Case Studies

  • Benefits of enhanced performance
  • Case studies

Unit 3: The Organisational Resilience Capability Model (ORCM)

  • Structure and application
  • Maturity scale
  • Features of the ORCM
  • ORCM concepts
  • Self assessment and reporting

Unit 4: Other key issues and ideas

  • Knowledge Management (KM) and Organisational Learning (OL)
  • Compliance
  • Transformation
  • Safety and High Reliability Organisations (HROs)
  • Security

Unit 5: Application and implementation

  • Resources and capability
  • Programme delivery
  • Data management
  • Performance improvement
  • Benchmarking